Christopher Yip, Director, Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering

 - BASc, University of Toronto - PhD, University of Minnesota

– BASc, University of Toronto
– PhD, University of Minnesota | 416-978-7853

Professor Christopher Yip is a leading voice in the research area of single-molecule biophysics. He is a faculty member with both the Department of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry and the Department of Biochemistry, the Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, and is a Principal Investigator with the Donnelly Centre for Cellular & Biomolecular Research at the University of Toronto.

As Director of the Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering (IBBME), Professor Christopher Yip provides leadership to more than 80 research engineers and scientists throughout the greater Toronto area that are engaged in discovery and product development in the areas of neuroscience and sensory stimulation, biomaterials and tissue engineering, molecular systems biology and nanotechnology, as well as medical device and drug delivery system design.

Joining the Department of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry in 1997, Professor Yip was promoted to Associate Professor in 2002 and to Full Professor in 2007. He previously served as Interim Director of IBBME from 2007 to 2008. He has received teaching awards in both the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering; he has also given over 92 invited talks and authored 70 peer-reviewed publications and four book chapters. He is the vice Chair of the CIHR Institute of Genetics Institute Advisory Board and has served on grant panels at NSERC, CIHR and NIH.

Professor Yip was the first recipient of the Molecular Imaging’s Outstanding Young Biological Scanning Probe Microscopy Investigator of the Year award, and since that time has been honoured with a Premier’s Research Excellence Award (1999), Faculty Teaching Award, (2000), Graduate Faculty Teaching Award for Sustained Contribution to Excellence in Graduate Teaching (2008). He was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2009), a Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada (2014) and held a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Molecular Imaging (2000-2010).