Academic Appointments

The Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering at the University of Toronto is a centre of immense inspiration, remarkable innovation and boundless possibilities.

Our new professors are creating solutions to better the world — from addressing human health to developing sustainable technologies. They are also outstanding teachers, dedicated to educating our highly motivated students.

As the premier engineering institution in Canada and one of the best in the world, we have earned a reputation for excellence. That reputation has enhanced our ability to recruit top academics and students from around the globe.

2014–2015 Appointments


Gisele Azimi (ChemE, MSE)

Alumna Gisele Azimi (ChemE, MSE) received her PhD in chemical engineering at U of T before completing two postdoctoral positions at MIT, one in Materials Sciences and the other in Mechanical Engineering. Read more »


Kinnor Chattopadhyay (MSE)

Kinnor Chattopadhyay (MSE) specializes as a process metallurgist. Upon completing his PhD at McGill, he gained two years of experience in the metals industry working for Hatch Ltd., a global engineering and management consultancy firm. Read more »


Margaret Hai-Ling Cheng (IBBME, ECE)

Margaret Hai-Ling Cheng (IBBME, ECE) is a U of T alumna herself and, prior to joining the Faculty, she pursued research at the Hospital for Sick Children where she combined her electrical and computer engineering expertise with her biomedical training to develop magnetic resonance imaging technologies. Read more »


Elodie Passeport (ChemE, CivE)

Trained in a number of disciplines, Elodie Passeport (ChemE, CivE) received her PhD in Water Sciences in France before completing her postdoctoral fellowship at UC Berkeley. Prior to her position with Engineering, Passeport worked at U of T in the Earth Sciences department. Read more »

2013–2014 Appointments

  • Amy Bilton (MIE)
  • Eric Diller (MIE)

  • 2012–2013 Appointments

  • Arthur Chan (ChemE)
  • Jennifer Drake (CivE)
  • Stark Draper (ECE)
  • Tobin Filleter (MIE)
  • Jonathan Kelly (UTIAS)
  • Deepa Kundur (ECE)
  • Antonio Liscidini (ECE)
  • Angela Schöellig (UTIAS)
  • Jeffrey Siegel (CivE)
  • Joshua Taylor (ECE)
  • Edmond Young (MIE)
  • Ding Yuan (ECE)

  • View the Academic Appointment video archive »