Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2008/09-01

To: Faculty, Staff and Students of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: July 22, 2008

Re: Search for Chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

(a) Announcement of Advisory Committee Membership

(b) Call for Nominations

Doug Perovic's term as Chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE), ends on December 31, 2008; he is not eligible for reappointment. In accordance with the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators* and following a Call for Nominations on June 20, the following Advisory Committee has been established to recommend the selection of a Chair for MSE:

Professor Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering (Chair) Ms Josie Barbato, Graduate Student, MSE

Professor Chris Damaren, Vice-Dean, Graduate Studies, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

Professor Nazir Kherani, Associate Professor, MSE

Professor Mark Kortschot, Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry

Professor Keryn Lian, Associate Professor, MSE

Professor Susan Pfeiffer, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Education

Dr. Ken Pritzker, MSE External Advisory Board

Professor Eli Sone, Assistant Professor, MSE

Ms Fanny Strumas, Business Officer, MSE

Mr. Karl Visnovec, Undergraduate Student, MSE

Professor Zhirui Wang, Professor, MSE

The Committee welcomes nominations for the position. Nominations, along with the justification for them, should be submitted to the attention of the Dean (fax: 416-978-4859 or by email: dean@ecf.utoronto.ca) as soon as possible but no later than **Friday**, **August 15, 2008**.

Copy: Professor Cheryl Misak, Interim Vice-President and Provost