

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM

2007/08-04

To:	All Faculty Members

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: January 10, 2008

Re: Appointment of an Administrative Staff Awards Committee

Following from the excellent work of the Committee on Nominations for Honours and Awards, established in March 2007, I have established an Administrative Staff Awards Committee. It will focus on recognizing outstanding contributions among our administrative colleagues. Excellence and accomplishment among our administrators deserve to be acknowledged and celebrated. Furthermore, formal recognition will enhance the reputation of the Faculty as do the awards and honours conferred upon our faculty, student and alumni colleagues.

The Committee will begin its work by introducing and developing the terms of reference for new awards to be conferred by the Faculty in recognition of outstanding work and contribution by our administrative staff. It will develop an inventory of existing administrative staff awards at the Faculty and Departmental levels, assist Departments in publicizing them and track recipients. It will be mindful that recognition of the achievements of university administrators sometimes takes place through the professional associations to which they belong, e.g., the CAUBO Quality and Productivity Awards and Recognition Program, and will attempt to track and record these. It will be also be proactive in identifying opportunities for recognition of administrative staff within the University of Toronto and at the local, national and international levels, e.g., the U of T Alumni Association Chancellor's Award or the YMCA-YWCA Women of Distinction Award; coordinating applications/nominations for them; and in tracking success.

The Committee will be chaired by Catherine Gagne, our Chief Administrative Officer. Initial membership will consist of: Renzo Bassett (CIV), Linda Espeut (ECE), Greg Evans (CHE), Brenda Fung (MIE), Karen Lewis (HR), and Lisa Simpson-Camilleri (FAC). Additional members may be added or co-opted. It will be supported by Carolyn Farrell, our Director of Awards and Honours (416-978-8666/carolyn.farrell@utoronto.ca).