Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2008/09-10

**To:** Faculty, Staff and Students of the Department of Mechanical and Industrial

Engineering

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: December 5, 2008

Re: Search for Chair, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

(a) Announcement of Advisory Committee Membership

(b) Call for Nominations

Tony Sinclair's first term as Chair, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE), ends on June 30, 2009. In accordance with the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators* and following a Call for Nominations on August 11, the following Advisory Committee has been established to recommend the selection of a Chair for MIE:

Professor Dionne Aleman, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering Professor Grant Allen, Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Studies, and Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry

Professor Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering (Chair)

Professor Elizabeth Cowper, Vice-Dean, Programs, School of Graduate Studies

Ms. Malahat Fardadi, graduate student, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Ms. Ines Fernandez, undergraduate student, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Mark Fox, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Ms. Brenda Fung, Graduate Studies Administrator, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Brenda McCabe, Chair, Department of Civil Engineering

Professor Susan McCahan, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Mr. Murray Metcalfe, alumnus, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Javad Mostaghimi, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Chul Park, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Jim Wallace, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

The Committee welcomes nominations for the position. Nominations, along with the justification for them, should be submitted to the attention of the Dean (fax: 416-978-4859 or by email: dean@ecf.utoronto.ca) by Friday, January 16, 2009.

Copy: Professor Cheryl Misak, Interim Vice-President and Provost