

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM

2008/09-11

To: Faculty, Staff and Students of the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: December 17, 2008

Re: Search for Chair, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

(a) Announcement of Advisory Committee Membership

(b) Call for Nominations

Jonathan Rose's first term as Chair, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), ends on June 30, 2009. In accordance with the <u>Policy on Appointment of</u> <u>Academic Administrators</u> and following a Call for Nominations on September 26, 2008, the following Advisory Committee has been established to recommend the selection of a Chair for ECE:

Professor Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering (Chair)
Professor Paul Chow, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor Will Cluett, Chair, Division of Engineering Science and Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry
Mr. Jason Grenier, graduate student, Edward S. Rogers. Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer

- Mr. Jason Grenier, graduate student, Edward S. Rogers. Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Professor Frank Kschischang, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Ms. Austra Ozolins, Administrative Manager, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Mr. Eugene Polistuk, Alumnus, Department of Electrical Engineering
- Professor Joyce Poon, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Professor Ali Sheikholeslami, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor J.J. Berry Smith, Vice-Dean, Students, School of Graduate Studies

- Professor Safwat Zaky, Vice-Provost, Planning and Budget and Professor, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Mr. Adam Zarek, undergradute student, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

The Committee welcomes nominations for the position. Nominations, along with the justification for them, should be submitted to the attention of the Dean (fax: 416-978-4859 or by email: <u>dean@ecf.utoronto.ca</u>) by **Friday, January 23, 2009.**

Copy: Professor Cheryl Misak, Interim Vice-President and Provost