Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2010/11-01

To: Members of the Division of Engineering Science

Chairs and Directors, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

CC: Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost

From: Cristina Amon

Date: September 20, 2010

Re: Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Chair, Division of Engineering Science

Call for Nominations

Note: This memorandum is being re-issued with updated information. All nominations received from the original memorandum issued on December 9, 2009 remain active. All new nominations are welcomed to be received by September 30, 2010.

Professor Will Cluett's term as Chair, Division of Engineering Science ends on December 31, 2010; he is eligible for re-appointment. In accordance with the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, we will be commencing the process to seek approval of an Advisory Committee to the Dean on the appointment of a Chair, Division of Engineering Science.

The Committee should normally be composed as follows:

- the Dean of the Faculty;
- three to five members of the unit's teaching staff;
- two to four members of cognate departments;
- one or two students;
- a librarian, where appropriate; and
- in addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff and, in the case of professional faculties or schools, a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

I would appreciate receiving nominations for individuals to serve on the Advisory Committee by September 30, 2010. Please forward all nominations to the attention of:

Lisa Simpson-Camilleri Assistant Dean, Academic HR and Diversity Office of the Dean, 35 St. George Street Email: lisa@ecf.utoronto.ca

Thank you for your input.