

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM

2012/13-22

- **To:** Members of the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- cc: Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost Brian Corman, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Education Chairs and Directors
- From: Yu-Ling Cheng, Acting Dean
- **Date:** March 4, 2013

Re: Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Chair, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering: Call for Nominations

Professor Farid Najm's term as Chair, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, ends on June 30, 2014; he is eligible for reappointment. In accordance with the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, we will be commencing the process to seek approval of an Advisory Committee to the Dean on the appointment of a Chair, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

The Committee should normally be composed as follows:

- the Dean of the Faculty;
- three to five members of the teaching staff of the department;
- the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
- one or two members of cognate departments;
- one or two students;
- a Vice-Dean of the Faculty, where appropriate;
- a librarian, where appropriate; and
- in addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff and, in the case of professional faculties or schools, a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

Members of the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering are invited to nominate individuals to serve on the Advisory Committee **by March 18, 2013.** Please forward your suggestions to the attention of:

Lisa Simpson-Camilleri Assistant Dean, Academic HR and Diversity Email: <u>lisa@ecf.utoronto.ca</u>

Thank you for your input.