Supplementary to Faculty Council Report 3626

2019 EAN AWARDS

New Process

This year the Engineering Alumni Network adopted a new approach for nominations to and adjudication of its awards, with the objective of inviting more nominations from the broader alumni community and involving previous award winners in the adjudication process. All indications are the new process is working very well.

The following are brief highlights of the award winners' accomplishments.

1. Hall of Distinction

Five outstanding alumni are being inducted in the Network's Hall of Distinction, recognizing their exceptional professional accomplishments and their sustained service to the community and to our Faculty.

Professor Deborah Goodings has an outstanding record of research and leadership, starting at the University of Maryland and now at George Mason U. She served with distinction on many councils and advisory boards in the US and Canada, including as Division Director at the National Science Foundation.

Mr. John MacDonald was hired as the first employee of the newly established Enercare company, serving as its President and CEO. Under his leadership, and after expanding into the US, Enercare is now the largest provider of home services in North America, with 5000 employees and a valuation of \$4.3 billion.

Dr. Shawn Qu is a top scientist and business leader. He founded Canadian Solar, now a major international player in the solar energy field.

Mr. Bob Simmonds is a pioneer in the telecommunications industry in Canada, having founded Clearnet in the very early days of cell phones, which was later acquired by Telus. As Executive Vice President, he helped propel Telus to become the major company it is today. He is recognized as an international authority on wireless spectrum and has made major contributions to telecommunications policy in Canada.

Jeanette Southwood is Vice President of Engineers Canada. She is the recipient of many prestigious awards, including Women Building Communities, an honorary doctorate, the Governor General's Sovereign's Medal and Professional Engineers' Excellence Medal. After she joined Golder Associates in 2003, she quickly advanced to be the first visible minority woman to become a Principal of the company.

2. The EAN Medal

Professor Levente Diosady's research is focused on developing micro-nutrients, such as doubly fortified salt, to combat malnutrition. Through CIDA and various NGOs, his work is impacting the lives of millions of children in India and millions more worldwide who are suffering from Anemia and iodine deficiency. He is also developing protein isolates from plant sources to replace those derived from meat, minimizing trans fats and eliminating carcinogenic components.

3. Mid-Career Award

Maryam Shanechi, Assist. Prof., USC, is described as having made fundamental contributions that are transforming the field of neuroscience. During her PhD and postdoctoral research at MIT and the Harvard Medical School she was able to achieve the long sought after objective of translating intended movements derived by decoding brain activity into appropriate stimulation for muscles to elicit these movements, thus enabling paraplegics to use their own hands without any robotic assist. She is also able to decode a patient's mood and provide electrical feedback to deal with such conditions as acute depression.

4. Early-Career Award

Holly Johnson was the systems engineer for a neurological medical robot designed at MacDonald Dettwiler and Associates for use in the challenging MRI environment. She is described as the most impressive young executive, having quickly risen to become the President's Business Manager, working on strategic planning, communications and restructuring.

5. Malcolm McGrath Award

James Courtney is an exemplary candidate for this award, with his commitment and extensive volunteer services, particularly at Hart House, and his leadership of the Skule Lunch and Learn Committee.

6. L.E. (Ted) Jones Award

Robert Bazzocchi and **Emma Sexton** are highly talented students, who played key roles in Skule activities, and Skule Nite. Robert is a musician and an actor, who also established a performance company in Toronto. Emma is a musician and a comedian, who paid special attention to coaching and empowering young women in her cast.

7. Honorary Membership

This is a special award to recognize a member of our community who has made exceptional contributions through her work on international conferences, raising the profile of U of T and providing opportunities for our graduate students to participate and develop their skills. **Laura Fujino** is being named an **honorary member** of the Engineering Alumni Network.

The awards ceremony will be held in a gala event in the first week of November, 2019, at the Myhal Centre (exact date to be announced soon). All are invited.