Report No. 3750

### **MEMORANDUM**

**To**: Faculty Council of October 31, 2023

**From**: Liane Catalfo, ChemE 0T8, MEng 1T0

President, Engineering Alumni Network

**Date**: October 10, 2023

Re: Report of the Engineering Alumni Network (EAN) Awards Committee, 2023:

Candidates for the 2023 Engineering Alumni Network Awards; Engineering Alumni Medal, Hall of Distinction, Malcolm McGrath Alumni Achievement Award, 2T5 Mid-Career Award, 7T6 Early Career Award, and L.E. (Ted) Jones

**Award of Distinction** 

#### REPORT CLASSIFICATION

This is a routine matter for Council's information.

1) The Engineering Alumni Network (EAN) Awards Committee recommends that the Engineering Alumni Medal be awarded in 2023 to our distinguished graduate:

### M. Jane Phillips, ChemE 5T3

2) The Committee recommends that the following distinguished graduates of the Faculty be inducted into the Engineering Hall of Distinction:

Mark T. Kortschot, EngSci 8T4, ChemE MASc 8T5
Michael Kropp, ElecE 8T6
Nick Stark, MechE 7T8
Michael Zahra, ElecE 8T8

3) The Committee recommends that the Malcolm McGrath Alumni Achievement Award be awarded in 2023 to our distinguished graduate:

# Lauri Hiivala, ElecE 6T5

4) The Committee recommends that the 2T5 Mid-Career Award be awarded in 2023 to our distinguished graduate:

Alison P McGuigan, ChemE PhD 0T5

5) The Committee recommends that the 7T6 Early-Career Award be awarded in 2023 to our distinguished graduate:

## Atul Patidar, ECE MEng 1T5

6) The Committee recommends that the L.E. (Ted) Jones Award be awarded in 2023 to our distinguished graduate:

### Wing Yan Chan, IndE 2T2 + PEY

- 7) The Committee received zero nominations this year in the category of Honourary Member.
- 8) The 2023 Committee was comprised of co-chairs representing the EAN Board and the Faculty, alumni relations staff, and adjudicators who are all previous EAN award recipients from the existing award categories.

Professor Emerita Brenda McCabe (Co-Chair)

Isi Caulder (Co-Chair)

Joelle Javier (Co-Chair elect)

Sonia De Buglio (Ex-Officio)

Shannon Osborne (Ex-Officio)

Caprice Boisvert

Paul Cadario

Andrew Forde

Deborah Goodings

Dana Kokoska

Alvin Mok

Shawn Qu

Larry Seeley

- 9) The annual EAN Awards Ceremony will be held on November 2, 2023 in the Great Hall at Hart House.
- 10) Full details of the awards including recipient citations can be found on the <a href="Engineering Alumni Network Awards">Engineering Alumni Network Awards</a> website.