Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2007/08-06

**To:** Members of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering

**c.c.** Cheryl Misak, Deputy Provost

Susan Pfeiffer, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Education

Chairs and Directors

From: Cristina Amon, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

**Date**: June 20, 2008

Re: Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Chair, Department of Materials

Science and Engineering: Call for Nominations

Doug Perovic's term as Chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, ends on December 31, 2008; he is not eligible for reappointment. In accordance with the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, we will be commencing the process to seek approval of an Advisory Committee on the appointment of a Chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering.

The Committee should normally be composed as follows:

- the Dean of the Faculty;
- three to five members of the teaching staff of the department;
- the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
- one or two members of cognate departments;
- one or two students;
- a Vice-Dean of the Faculty, where appropriate; and
- a librarian, where appropriate.

Members of Department of Materials Science and Engineering are invited to nominate individuals to serve on the Advisory Committee *by July 4, 2008*. As well, any nominations you might have for a Chair are welcome at this time. Please forward your suggestions to the attention of:

Office of the Dean
Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
35 St. George Street, Room 170
France (410) 978, 4859

Fax: (416) 978-4859

Email: dean@ecf.utoronto.ca

We very much look forward to your input.