

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2008/09-07

To: Members of The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

cc: Cheryl Misak, Interim Vice-President and Provost

Susan Pfeiffer, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate Education

Chairs and Directors

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: September 26, 2008

Re: Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Chair, The Edward S. Rogers Sr.

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering: Call for Nominations

Jonathan Rose's term as Chair, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, ends on June 30, 2009. In accordance with the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, we will be commencing the process to seek approval of an Advisory Committee to the Dean on the appointment of a Chair, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

The Committee should normally be composed as follows:

- the Dean of the Faculty;
- three to five members of the teaching staff of the department;
- the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
- one or two members of cognate departments;
- one or two students;
- a Vice-Dean of the Faculty, where appropriate;
- a librarian, where appropriate; and
- in addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff and, in the case of professional faculties or schools, a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

Members of The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering are invited to nominate individuals to serve on the Advisory Committee *by October 10, 2008*. At this time I welcome any nominations you might have for a Chair, along with a rationale and background for the nomination. Please forward your suggestions to the attention of:

Cristina Amon
Dean
Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
35 St. George Street, Room 170
Email: dean@ecf.utoronto.ca

Thank you for your input.