Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2008/09-20

To: Chairs and Directors

APSC Administrative Staff

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: May 22, 2009

Re: Re-appointment of Chair, First Year

I am delighted to announce the reappointment of Susan McCahan as Chair, First Year for a second, three-year term starting July 1, 2009.

Susan received a B.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering from Cornell University, her M.Sc. and Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. She joined the University of Toronto in the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering in 1992 and became an Associate Professor in 1998.

During her first term as Chair, First Year, Susan provided exemplary leadership and oversight to the first-year curriculum, undergraduate recruitment and admissions to the Faculty, as well as the development of co-curricular activities to support the transition of first-year students to the University. This dedicated work has resulted in improved retention rates among first year students achieving promotion to second year. She also managed the implementation of a new general engineering first-year curriculum, Track One, which was successfully introduced in Fall 2007.

In 2007, Professor McCahan was the recipient of a 3M National Fellowship Teaching Award and was also part of the team in the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering that received the 2007 Alan Blizzard Award for collaboration in teaching. She received the Faculty Teaching Award in 2000, the President's Teaching Award in 2007, and was named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2006 for distinguished contributions and innovations to the education of the next generation of engineers and scientists.

Professor McCahan has also served as Associate Chair, Undergraduate Studies, for the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering from 2001-2004.

Please join me in thanking and congratulating Susan on her reappointment.

I would also like to express my gratitude to the members of the Advisory Committee for this appointment for their thoughtful input: Grant Allen, Vice-Dean, Undergraduate; Will Cluett, Chair, Division of Engineering Science; and Barbara McCann, Registrar.