Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2011/12 - 09

**To**: Members of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

From: Cristina Amon, Dean and Yu-Ling Cheng, Acting Dean

**Date**: May 28, 2012

Re: Appointment of Vice-Dean Research

We are pleased to announce the appointment of Professor Edward H. Sargent as Vice-Dean Research for a five-year term beginning July 1, 2012.

Ted joined the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 1998, was promoted to Associate Professor in 2002 and to Full Professor in 2005. He currently holds a Canada Research Chair in Nanotechnology and is a fellow of the IEEE and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. His research has been cited well over 5000 times and has been disseminated in *Nature, Science, Nature Materials, Nature Nanotechnology,* and *Nature Photonics.* He has also served as Associate Chair, Research in the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering since 2009.

Please join us in congratulating Ted on his appointment and wishing him all the best in this endeavour.

We extend our thanks to the following members of the Advisory Committee in this search for their time and thoughtful input:

Professor Chris Damaren, Vice-Dean Graduate and Institute for Aerospace Studies Professor Ramin Farnood, Associate Chair, Research, Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry

Professor Alberto Leon-Garcia, Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor Paul Santerre, Director, Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering Professor Molly Shoichet, Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry/Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering

Professor Brent Sleep, Associate Chair, Research, Civil Engineering Professor Jean Zu, Chair, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

We also take this opportunity to recognize and extend deepest appreciation on behalf of the Faculty to Professor Stewart Aitchison for his committed leadership as Vice-Dean Research since 2007. Please join us in thanking Professor Aitchison for his outstanding contributions to the Faculty.