

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2011/12-06

To: Members of the Department of Civil Engineering

cc: Cheryl Misak, Vice-President and Provost

Brian Corman, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice-Provost, Graduate

Education

Chairs and Directors

From: Cristina Amon, Dean

Date: February 27, 2012

Re: Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Chair, Department of Civil

Engineering: Call for Nominations

Professor Brenda McCabe's term as Chair, Department of Civil Engineering, ends on December 31, 2012; she is eligible for reappointment. In accordance with the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, we will be commencing the process to seek approval of an Advisory Committee to the Dean on the appointment of a Chair, Department of Civil Engineering.

The Committee should normally be composed as follows:

- the Dean of the Faculty;
- three to five members of the teaching staff of the department;
- the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
- one or two members of cognate departments;
- one or two students;
- a Vice-Dean of the Faculty, where appropriate;
- a librarian, where appropriate; and
- in addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff and, in the case of professional faculties or schools, a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

Members of Department of Civil Engineering are invited to nominate individuals to serve on the Advisory Committee *by March 9, 2012*. Please forward your suggestions to the attention of:

Christina da Rocha-Feeley
Director, Office of the Dean
Email: cdarocha@ecf.utoronto.ca

Thank you for your input.