

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2013/14-17

To: Members of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Chairs and Directors

From: Cristina Amon

Date: December 3, 2013

Re-Appointment of Chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering Re:

I am very pleased to announce the re-appointment of Professor Jun Nogami as Chair of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) for a second five-year term beginning July 1, 2014.

Jun Nogami joined MSE in 2004 after holding professorial appointments at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and Michigan State University. He has served one five-year term as Chair of MSE, from January 1, 2009 – December 31, 2013. He also served as Associate Chair of the Division of Engineering Science from 2008 - 2009. He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and leads the very successful UT² collaboration between the University of Toronto and the University of Tokyo.

Under Professor Nogami's leadership, MSE has successfully recruited 2 excellent new faculty members and strategically increased the enrolment in the Department's MEng program. He recently lead the Department to a successful 6-year accreditation from CEAB.

Please join me in congratulating Jun on his re-appointment and wishing him all the best in this endeavour.

I extend my deep appreciation to the following members of the Advisory Committee in this search for their time and thoughtful input:

Professor Mansoor Barati, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Professor Uwe Erb, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Professor Benjamin Hatton, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Professor Keryn Lian, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Professor Vlad Papangelakis, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry and SGS representative

Professor Doug Perovic, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Ms. Fanny Manousos, Administrative Staff, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Ms. Leili Tafaghodi Khajavi, Graduate Student, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Ms. Sharon Vadakepeedika, Undergraduate Student, Department of Materials Science and

Engineering

I am also pleased to announce that Professor Uwe Erb will serve as Interim Chair of the Department from January 1 - June 30, 2014, while Professor Nogami takes a well-deserved six-month administrative leave.