

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM

2013/14-11

To:	Members of the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
	Chairs and Directors

From: Cristina Amon

Date: May 1, 2014

Re: Re-Appointment of Chair, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

I am very pleased to announce the re-appointment of Professor Jean Zu as Chair of the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering (MIE) for a second five-year term beginning July 1, 2014.

Jean joined the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering in 1994 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 1999 and to full Professor in 2004. Jean is a fellow of The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC), the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE), and the Canadian Society of Mechanical Engineering (CSME). She currently serves as President of The Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC).

Under Professor Zu's leadership, the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering has successfully recruited 7 outstanding new faculty members. She has worked to strategically develop the department's research collaborations with industry and international partners, and she has advanced the outreach activities to alumni and donors. Jean has streamlined the departmental administrative process and infrastructure, and has significantly strengthened the communication, visibility, and community building of the department. In 2012-13, the department was successful in receiving the full six-year CEAB accreditation for both the mechanical and industrial engineering programs.

Please join me in congratulating Jean on her re-appointment and wishing her a rewarding journey for her second term.

I extend my deep appreciation to the following members of the Advisory Committee in this search for their time and thoughtful input:

Professor Dionne Aleman, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Tim Chan, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Mr. Javad Esmaeelpanah, Graduate Student, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Mark Fox, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Mark Kortschot, Chair, Division of Engineering Science

Ms. Shannon Osborne, Administrative Staff, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Ms. Zoya Shrivastava, Undergraduate Student, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor David Sinton, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

Professor Yu Sun, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering