

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM 2013/14-9

To: Members of the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Chairs and Directors

From: Cristina Amon

Date: March 12, 2014

Re: Re-Appointment of Chair, Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer

Engineering

I am very pleased to announce the re-appointment of Professor Farid Najm as Chair of the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) for a second five-year term beginning July 1, 2014.

Farid joined the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 1999. He received his B.E. degree from the American University of Beirut, and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Prior to coming to U of T, Farid held a faculty position at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (1992-1999). He also worked in the private sector, at the Semiconductor Process and Design Centre at Texas Instruments (1987-1992).

Under Professor Najm's leadership, the department has successfully recruited 9 outstanding new faculty members. He has established an alumni advisory board for the department and has increased the outreach activities to alumni and donors. He has overseen a significant increase in the enrolment of the department's MEng program and has facilitated the development of strategic collaborative research activities with industry and government partners.

Please join me in congratulating Farid on his re-appointment and wishing him all the best for his second term.

I extend my deep appreciation to the following members of the Advisory Committee in this search for their time and thoughtful input:

Professor Ravi Adve, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor Mirelle Broucke, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor George Eleftheriades, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor Natalie Enright-Jerger, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Mr. Jason Grenier, Graduate Student, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ms. Krisztina Harmath, Administrative Staff, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor Bryan Karney, Associate Dean, Cross Disciplinary Programs, APSC

Ms. Anmol Kaur, Undergraduate Student, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor Mark Kortschot, Chair, Division of Engineering Science

Professor Mo Mojahedi, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering