

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM

То:	Members of the Institute for Aerospace Studies Chairs and Directors	2010/11-18
From:	Cristina Amon, Dean	
Date:	June 28, 2011	
Re:	Re-Appointment of Director, University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies	

I am pleased to announce the re-appointment of Professor David Zingg as Director of the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies (UTIAS) for a second five-year term beginning July 1, 2011.

David Zingg joined UTIAS in 1988 and was promoted to Associate Professor in 1993 and to Full Professor in 1998. He has served one five-year term as Director of UTIAS, from July 1, 2006 – June 30, 2011.

He is a fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering and currently holds a Canada Research Chair in Computational Aerodynamics and Environmentally-Friendly Aircraft Design, as well as the J. Armand Bombardier Foundation Chair in Aerospace Flight. In 2009 he was recognized with the Faculty Award through the University of Toronto Awards of Excellence Program, for consistently demonstrating excellence in both teaching and research endeavours. He has successfully graduated 16 PhD students and 37 MASc students; authored or co-authored 1 textbook, 48 refereed journal papers, 150 conference papers, and has given over 30 invited talks.

Under Professor Zingg's leadership, UTIAS has increased graduate enrollment and successfully recruited outstanding new faculty, including the first female faculty member at the Institute. In May 2011 UTIAS underwent an external review with the following reported by the review team, "UTIAS is clearly world-class in its students, professors and facilities... the leadership is strong with a clear vision on where it wants to go."

Please join me in congratulating David on his re-appointment and wishing him all the best in this endeavour.

I extend my deep appreciation to the following members of the Advisory Committee in this search for their time and thoughtful input:

Professor Stewart Aitchison, Vice-Dean Research, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering; Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Professor Ridha Ben Mrad, Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
Ms. Joan DaCosta, Administrative Staff, Institute for Aerospace Studies
Dr. Jim Davis, Institute for Aerospace Studies
Professor Alis Ekmekci, Institute for Aerospace Studies
Mr. James Forbes, Graduate Student, Institute for Aerospace Studies
Professor Ömer Gülder, Institute for Aerospace Studies
Professor Phillipe Lavoie, Institute for Aerospace Studies
Professor Hugh Liu, Institute for Aerospace Studies
Ms. Lana Osusky, Graduate Student, Institute for Aerospace Studies
Professor Berry Smith, Vice-Dean, School of Graduate Studies