Report No. 3298

To: Faculty Council

Engineering Alumni Association Council

From: Professor Barry Adams

Chair, Engineering Alumni Honours & Awards Committee

Date: April 11, 2011 for April 28, 2011 Faculty Council Meeting

Re: Report of the Engineering Alumni Honours & Awards Committee:

Candidates for the Induction into the 2011 Engineering Alumni Hall of Distinction, the Engineering Alumni Medal, 2T5 Mid-Career Award, and

7T6 Early Career Award

REPORT CLASSIFICATION: Routine or Minor Policy Matter for Faculty Council's information.

1) The Committee recommends that the following distinguished graduates of the Faculty be inducted in the Engineering Hall of Distinction:

Michael A. Butt, CivE 6T3
Lloyd McCoomb, CivE 6T8, MASc CivE 8T2
Denis Mitchell, CivE 6T9, MASc CivE 7T1, PhD CivE 7T4
Douglas Reeve, MASc ChemE 6T9, PhD ChemE 7T1
James Edward (Ted) Robertson, MechE, 7T1, MEng MIE 7T7
Francis Shen, EngSci 8T1, MASc AeroE 8T3 and
Anthony Shen, EngSci 8T0 (joint recognition)

2) The Committee recommends that the Engineering Alumni Medal be awarded in 2011 to our distinguished graduate:

Kenneth C. Smith, EngPhys 5T4, MASc 5T6, PhD 6T0

3) The Committee recommends that the 2T5 Mid-Career Award be awarded in 2011 to our distinguished graduate:

Nick Caccavella, CivE 8T6, MASc CivE 8T9

4) The Committee recommends that the 7T6 Early-Career Award be awarded in 2011 to our distinguished graduate:

Dwayne Shirley, MSE 0T1, MASc MSE 0T3, PhD MSE 0T9

5) The Committee recommends that the Malcolm McGrath Award be awarded in 2011 to our distinguished graduates:

John Voss, ChemE 8T2 Davis Doan, CivE 0T7 (posthumous)

6) The current membership of the Committee includes:

Barry Adams (Chair)Margaret KendeJane PhillipsNancy HillMalcolm McGrathJohn WalkerEwing RaeSonia De Buglio (Ex-Officio)Bill Kirkpatrick

Marisa Sterling Claire Kennedy (Ex-Officio)

7) The annual Alumni Awards Dinner will be held Wednesday, November 2, 2011 at Great Hall, Hart House. Last year total attendance was 220 people.