

Cristina Amon, Dean

MEMORANDUM

2018/19-04

- To: Members of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering
- cc: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost Luc De Nil, Acting Dean, School of Graduate Studies Chairs and Directors
- From: Cristina Amon, Dean
- **Date:** November 28, 2018

Re: Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering: Call for Nominations

Professor Jun Nogami's second term as Chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, ends on June 30, 2019; he is not eligible for reappointment. In accordance with the <u>Policy on</u> <u>Appointment of Academic Administrators</u>, we will be commencing the process to seek approval of an Advisory Committee to the Dean on the appointment of a Chair, Department of Materials Science and Engineering.

The Committee should normally be composed as follows:

- the Dean of the Faculty;
- three to five members of the teaching staff of the department;
- the Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
- one or two members of cognate departments;
- one or two students;
- a Vice-Dean of the Faculty, where appropriate;
- a librarian, where appropriate; and
- in addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff and, in the case of professional faculties or schools, a senior member of the appropriate professional community.

Members of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering are invited to nominate individuals to serve on the Advisory Committee **by December 7, 2018.** Please forward your suggestions to my attention at <u>dean.engineering@ecf.utoronto.ca</u>.

Thank you for your input.