Awards and Honours 2007

International Awards

177th Place out of 3640 Competitors, 2006 Putnam Mathematical Competition
Geoffrey Siu

Archer Daniels Midland Award: American Oil Chemists Society 
Levente Diosaday, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry
Rebecca Marnoch (MASc student);

Arch T. Colwell Merit Award: SAE International 
Brian Gore, PhD student

Certificate of Merit: International Thermal Spray Conference
Ken Chien (MSE graduate student);

Fellow: American Association for the Advancement of Science
Peter Zandstra, Institute for Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering
Jean Zu, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Peter Hughes, Institute of Aerospace Studies

Formula SAE Michigan
1st place in the FEV Powertrain Development Award
3rd place for the Ricardo Powertrain Award
3rd place for the Goodyear Best Performance Award for Endurance
3rd place for the Timkin Engine Performance Award
5th place overall (top placing Canadian team);
Honorable Mention for the Altair Engineering Award

Guggenheim Fellowship
Peter Zandstra, Institute of Biomaterials &  Biomedical Engineering

Herman Halperin Electric Transmission and Distribution Award: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers 
Eric B. Forsyth

Humboldt Research Fellowship: Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
Yanyan Yuan (MSE graduate student);

National Awards

3M National Teaching Fellowship
Susan McCahan, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Alan Blizzard Award
Philip Anderson, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Robert Andrews, Civil Engineering
Mark Kortschot, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry
Susan McCahan, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Sandy Romas, Administrative Assistant
Peter Weiss, Engineering Communication Program
Kimberly Woodhouse, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry

Canada Medal:
Society of Chemical Industry
Howard Goodfellow

Canadian Environmental Scientist of the Year: Canadian Geographic
Miriam Diamond (cross-appointed with Department of Geography);

Ernest A. LeSueur Memorial Award: Canadian Section of the Society of Chemical Industry
Phillip (Rocky); Simmons

Fellow: Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
Cristina Amon, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Hani Naguib, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Javad Mostaghimi, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

John Chapman Award: Canadian Space Agency
Peter Hughes, Institute of Aerospace Studies
John S. Bates Memorial Gold Medal:
Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada
Doug Reeve, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry

Order of Canada
Barry French, Institute of Aerospace Studies

Premier’s Catalyst Award for Best Young Innovator
Parham Aarabi, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Premier’s Discovery Award for Natural Sciences and Engineering
Andreas Mandelis, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

RBC’s Innovative Business of the Year
Gino Palumbo, Integran Technologies

Top 40 Under 40
Tom Chau, Institute for Biomaterials &  Biomedical Engineering
Brendan Frey, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Regional Awards – Provincial and City-wide

Leadership in Faculty Teaching (LIFT); 
Yu-Ling Cheng, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry 

OEC Parliamentary Debate, 1st Place
Richard Lizius, Irena Madhavi

Professional Engineers Ontario Gold Medal
Anne Sado

Professional Engineers Ontario Engineering Medal, Entrepreneur Category
Howard Goodfellow

Professional Engineers Ontario Engineering Medal, Management Category
Jan Carr

University of Toronto Awards

Cressy Award & Valedictorian
Jordan Silverman (Mech 0T7);

Cressy Award
David Lee, Paul Radcliffe, Stephanie McTague, Jessica Tinianov, Stephanie Whitehurst

Faculty Award: University of Toronto Alumni Association 
Yu-Ling Cheng, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry

Jon S. Dellandrea Award for International Students Finalist
Kerolyn K. Shairsingh (Chem 0T8);

Jon S. Dellandrea Award for International Students Scholar
Shi (Reynold); Xin, Engineering Science

President’s Teaching Award
Susan McCahan, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Teaching Award for Teaching Instructors
Mahdi Tajbakhsh, Anna Moser

University of Toronto Teaching Assistants’ Excellent Award
Christopher Nielsen, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering Awards

3T5 Second Mile Engineer Award
Jordan Silverman (Mech 0T7);

Agnes Kaneko Award
Brenda Fung, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Class of 5T3 Engineering Award
Ramy Ghattas (Mech 0T8);

Early Career Teaching Award 
Wei Yu, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Faculty Teaching Award 
Raviraj Adve, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Hall of Distinction
Michael Sefton, Institute for Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering