Awards and Honours 2017


Fellow: American Association for the Advancement of Science
David Sinton (MIE)

Associate Fellow: American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics
Clinton Groth (UTAIS)

Fellow: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Ravi Adve (ECE)
Sorin Voinigescu (ECE)

Fellow: Optical Society of America
Mo Mojahedi (ECE)
Joyce Poon (ECE)

MIT Technology Review Top 35 Innovators Under 35
Angela Schoellig (UTIAS)

Sloan Research Fellowship: Sloan Foundation
Angela Schoellig (UTIAS)

TUM Ambassador: Technical University of Munich
Frank Kschischang (ECE)

Technology Award: American Society of Heating, Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning
Kurt Monterio (MIE 0T0)


Canada's Most Powerful Women: Top 100
Nancy Hill (CivE 8T1)
Claire Kennedy (ChemE 8T9)
Jeanette Southwood (ChemE 8T6, MASc 8T8)

Albert E. Berry Medal: Canadian Society for Civil Engineering
Heather MacLean (CivE)

Fellow: Canadian Academy of Engineering
Robert Andrews (CivE)
Sanjeev Chandra (MIE)
Tom Chau (IBBME)
Heather MacLean (CivE)
Wei Yu (ECE)
Perry Adebar (CivE MASc 8T7, PhD 9T0)
Mark Hundert (IndE 7T1)
Christopher Pickles (MMS 7T4, MASc 7T5, PhD 7T7)
John Young (MMS 7T1, MIE MASc 7T4)

Fellow: Canadian Society for Civil Engineering
Brent Sleep (CivE)

Fellow: Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
Sanjeev Chandra (MIE)

Fellow: Engineering Institute of Canada
Brenda McCabe (CivE)

John B. Stirling Medal: Engineering Institute of Canada
Jean Zu (MIE)

Sir John Kennedy Medal: Engineering Institute of Canada
Cristina Amon (MIE)

Fellow: Engineers Canada
Levente Diosady (ChemE)

Meritorious Service Award for Community Service: Engineers Canada
Ted Maulucci (MechE 8T9)

Young Engineer Achievement Award: Engineers Canada
Amy Bilton (MIE)

Hatch Innovation Award: Canadian Society for Chemical Engineering
Alison McGuigan (ChemE)

Gold Medal Award: Engineers Canada
Larry Seeley (ChemE 6T6, MASc 6T8, PhD 7T2)

Governor General’s Innovation Award
Paul Santerre (IBBME)

Kalev Pugi Award: Chemical Institute of Canada/Society for Chemical Industry
Molly Shoichet (ChemE, IBBME)

Killam Prize in Engineering: Canada Council for the Arts
Molly Shoichet (ChemE, IBBME)

Member: Order of Canada
George Myhal (IndE 7T8)
Bert Wasmund (ChemE PhD 6T6)

Officer: Order of Canada
Michael Sefton (ChemE, IBBME)
Molly Shoichet (ChemE, IBBME)

Fellow: Royal Society of Canada
Reza Iravani (ECE)
Milica Radisic (IBBME, ChemE)

Member: Royal Society of Canada College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists
Wei Yu (ECE)

3M National Teaching Fellow: Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education
Greg Evans (ChemE)


Ontario Professional Engineers Entrepreneurship Medal
Paul Santerre (IBBME)

Ontario Professional Engineers R&D Medal
Jan Andrysek (IBBME)
Craig Simmons (MIE, IBBME)

Ontario Professional Engineers Management Medal
Samantha Espley (Geo 8T8)

Ontario Professional Engineers Citizenship Award
Margaret Kende (CIV 6T0), Benny Pang (EngSci 7T2)

University of Toronto

Connaught McLean Award
Alison McGuigan (ChemE, IBBME)

Early Career Teaching Award
Dawn Kilkenny (IBBME)

True Blue Award
Carla Baptista (MIE)
Sharon Brown (APSC)
Phuong Huynh (APSC)
David James (MIE)

Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering Awards

Agnes Kaneko Citizenship Award
Joan DaCosta (UTIAS)

Harpreet Dhariwal Emerging Leader Award
Andrey Shukalyuk (IBBME)

Innovation Award
Pauline Martini (ChemE)

Quality of Student Experience Award
Endang (Susie) Susilawati (ChemE)
Cori Hanson, Office of the Registrar

Research Leader Award
Greg Evans (ChemE)