Awards & Honours

Left: Ezra Hauer, centre, receives the Outstanding Career Centennial Award from the Transportation Association of Canada. Right: Molly Shoichet, recipient of the L’Oréal-UNESCO Award for Women in Science.

U of T Engineering faculty, staff, alumni, and students receive recognition for their research, teaching, leadership, and dedication to the Engineering profession in the form of a record number of awards and grants. In the past few years, the number of major awards received is unparalleled in the Faculty’s recent history. Our achievements have increased the Faculty’s visibility among Canada’s top Engineering organizations, such as the Engineering Institute of Canada, the Canadian Academy of Engineering and Professional Engineers Ontario, as well as international organizations such as the National Academy of Engineering in the U.S.

This section is dedicated to celebrating the many individuals who have been recognized for outstanding achievements through a variety of external and internal award programs.

Read the latest awards and honours stories at

Awards & Honours 2015

International Awards

Control Systems Award: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Bruce Francis, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Fellow: Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Baochun Li, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Deepa Kundur, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Yu Sun, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Fellow: Society of Plastics Engineers
Hani Naguib, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering

For Women in Science Award: L’Oreal-UNESCO
Molly Shoichet, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry, Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering

Lifetime Achievement Award: American Institute of Steel Construction
Peter Birkemoe, Civil Engineering

Member: National Academy of Engineering (U.S.)
David Yao (MIE MASc 8T1, PhD 8T3)

Officer’s Cross: Order of Merit of the Republic of Hungary
Levente Diosady, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry

Sloan Research Fellowship: Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
Natalie Enright Jerger, Electrical & Computer Engineering

National Awards

C.N. Downing Award: Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
Kamran Behdinan (MIE)

E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship: NSERC
Wei Yu, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Fellow: Canadian Society for Civil Engineering
Frank Vecchio, Civil Engineering

Fellow: Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
Lidan You, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Fellow: Engineering Institute of Canada
Baher Abdulhai, Civil Engineering
David Sinton, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Jules Stachiewicz Medal: Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering
Sanjeev Chandra, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Julian C. Smith Medal: Engineering Institute of Canada
Alberto Leon-Garcia, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Outstanding Career Centennial Award: Transportation Association of Canada
Ezra Hauer, Civil Engineering

University of Toronto Awards

Distinguished Professor of Microcellular Engineered Plastics
Chul Park, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

Joan E. Foley Quality of Student Experience Award
Brenda McCabe, Civil Engineering

Vivek Goel Faculty Citizenship Award
Doug Reeve, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry

Awards & Honours Archive

Awards and Honours 2014

Awards and Honours 2013

Awards and Honours 2012

Awards and Honours 2011

Awards and Honours 2010

Awards and Honours 2009

Awards and Honours 2008

Awards and Honours 2007

Awards and Honours 2006

If we have missed an award, please email us.